2020 Australian Shadows Awards Winners

The winners of the 2020 Australian Shadows Awards have been announced.

On the 11th June the winners of the 2020 Australian Shadow Awards were announced, celebrating the finest in horror and dark fiction published by an Australasian within the named calendar year. The fields were exceptionally strong this year, reflecting what we all know about the state of horror writing across Australasia. 

The winners were:

POETRY: This Soundless Murk by Hester J Rook (The Future Fire)

NON-FICTION: Exploration of Menstruation in Horror and Dark Fiction by Tabatha Wood

GRAPHIC NOVEL: Hellblazer: Rise and Fall, by Tom Taylor & Darick Robertson (DC Comics)

EDITED WORKS: Midnight Echo issue 15, (ed. Lee Murray, AHWA) 

COLLECTED WORKS: The Heart is a Mirror for Sinners by Angela Slatter (PS Publishing)

SHORT FICTION: “Brumation” by Anthony Ferguson (Midnight Echo Issue 15, ed. Lee Murray, AHWA)

LONG FICTION: “By Touch and By Glance” by Lisa L Hannett (Songs for Dark Seasons, Ticonderoga Publications)

NOVEL: Deception Pass by Matthew Tait (Dark Crib)

Congratulations to all winners, and congratulations to all those short listed (check out the AHWA Facebook page and twitter (@AustHorror) for previous announcements and full short lists).

A big thank you to our volunteer judges and to the readers and writers of dark works in general!

Share this on Social Media: